Beef Roast with Roasted Veggie Blend

winter meal

It  was a day for a Winter meal. Rainy, gray, temps in the low 40’s, I needed something cozy and hearty. This fit the bill.

I use my grandmother’s method for cooking a beef roast. I used a top round that weighed a couple pounds, but this works for any size.
Crank up the oven to 400 degrees and while it’s heating, put the meat in a roasting pan and season it.
I used black pepper, garlic powder and onion powder, along with a dried herb blend of thyme and rosemary and a couple other things.
When the oven is hot, slide the roast in. Don’t put it in before the oven is up to temp; the goal is to quickly seal in the juices. Leave it for 20 minutes, then turn the heat down to 200 degrees. Roast until the internal temp reaches 140.
Remove to a serving platter and cover with foil so the juices stay put. Let it rest for 15 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, pour about 1/2 cup of water, wine or bullion in the roasting pan and scrape up all the tasty bits. If you’ve used a metal roasting pan, just leave everything in it and put it on the stove to boil. I used glass, and so transferred things to a saucepan. Add another 1/2 cup of beef broth and boil until it is reduced to about 3/4 cup.  Season to your taste; I used some black pepper and dried thyme.
Mix 2t cornstarch with 2 t cold water and add to the pot to thicken up the gravy.

Slice the meat across the grain and thinly and you’re ready to eat!
One of my favorite childhood memories is watching my grandfather approach the roast to slice it. He would turn it this way and that, looking for just the right angle, then, with knife and fork poised, he would hesitate, turn the wooden cutting board just a smidge, maybe three or four times, and slowly begin to slice off thin leaves of rare beef. He was a man of precision. The best part was that he would push the brown, caramelized outer bits over close to me, where I would snatch them quickly and pop them in my mouth. He’d pretend to fuss and sometimes even feint  toward my fingers with the carving knife, smiling all the while. Happy times. Rest in peace, Grandpa.

photo-1

Tonight’s roasted veggie recipe comes from Simply Recipes.

photo

It’s a blend of butternut squash, radicchio and onion. I forgot to add the pignoli (after making my man trek up and down a number of aisles in the grocery for for them. oops!), but it was still delish, and a perfect compliment to the roast. The bitterness of the radicchio is offset by the sweetness of the onion (I used a large Mayan one for their sweetness) and the squash. Great combination.

I rounded things out with roasted potato wedges. I didn’t think about adding them to the meal until everything else was almost finished, so I popped two fairly large red potatoes in the microwave for 8 minutes, then sliced them each into four wedges, sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt and added them to the veggies roasting in the hot oven until they were browned and crispy.

If only someone had brought an apple pie over for dessert……….

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

