Pork with Apple and Onion

Never use a dull knife.  Just take the time to keep it in good shape. Just do it.
Had I done so, this would have been written last night, but instead, I was sitting on the couch holding my hand in the air with pressure bandages on the two fingers that met my knife when it skittered off the onion I was chopping. Ouch. But I enlisted the help of my very capable assistant, we had a wonderful meal and I’m here typing to tell you about it

.

I started with a large sweet onion and two medium sized tart apples.
I melted a tablespoon of butter and into the pan it all went on a medium low heat. I sprinkled them with a bit of salt and some sage and let them cook away until they started to get nicely caramelized. Then, I deglazed the pan with about a half cup of dry white wine and let it nearly disappear.

My trusty assistant had arrived home by then from a long day at the office and after taking one look at me stirring the pan with one hand and the other held in the air wrapped in a bloody paper towel, jumped right in to help. He seasoned the center cut pork chops with an herb blend of thyme, sage, parsley, pepper and onion.

We moved the apples and onions to the edges of the pan, turned up the heat to medium high, added a tablespoon of canola oil and seared the chops, flipped then and let them finish. Just at the end,  I deglazed again with a cup of chicken broth and let that simmer to thicken up. I added a tablespoon of soy sauce for a little kick and tossed in 1/3 cup of toasted, chopped pecans.

We served this over jasmine brown rice with freshly steamed green beans seasoned with a dash of lemon.

This is one I will make again. Quite yummy.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

