Everyday Mushroom Soup

This one is quick enough for any day of the week. Since I work at home when I’m not traveling, I have the luxury to – and burden of – making my lunch every day.
You hardly need a recipe for this.
Mince a shallot or two and sauté in a tiny bit of olive oil. Add 8 oz of sliced mushrooms. Any kind. I like to use a blend to get more depth of flavor. Sauté until the mushrooms start to get tender. Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle a little thyme or rosemary on it.
Transfer to a saucepan and add four cups of chicken or vegetable broth. Simmer until the mushroom are soft and add a cup of milk, or some cream. I use low fat milk so I don’t get fatter. Let that warm up and enjoy with a few croutons and maybe a sprinkle of grated cheese.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

